Tiger and Bunny: Bunny Chan and Raccoon

This month is SuperHero month with me reviewing all of Tiger and Bunny, with the two movies and a surprise superhero anime so stay TUNED!

29466

The Facts are These:

Sternbild City houses people with extraordinary abilities called NEXT. With the rise of these heroes we see the heroes sponsored and promoted on the television show HERO TV. The series focuses on two heroes forced to join together because of their sponsors Kotetsu Kaburagi and Barnaby Jones Jr. The team of Tiger and Barnaby fight against the criminals of the series and try to find the villains responsible for Barnaby’s past.

Discoveries:

I watched this show on a whim because I was in the mood for a superhero show, but I wanted to watch an anime, it was better than I anticipated. I originally did not want to watch the show because of there being CG character art in the show and with my track history with CG in anime I was not jumping to this show. However, they did it surprisingly well, because the anime industry can animate mech’s extremely well, but not people.

Behind the Scenes:

The series was directed by Keiichi Sato and was written by Masafumi Nishida. It was produced by studio Sunrise which has made such shows as Yakitate!! Japan, Gintama and Zegapain. The English dub premiered on the anime streaming service Neon Valley, which is owned by the shows American license holder Viz Media. The first opening song was “Trace of Orion” by Unison Square Garden and the second opening was “Missing Link” by Novels. Here they are for you to enjoy.

 

 

A Brief View of the World:

The world of Tiger and Bunny takes place in the city of Sternbild, where 45 years ago people with extraordinary powers started to emerge. The heroes (citizens with powers sponsored by large corporation) are promoted on TV using the show HERO TV where the heroes are ranked and gain points based on how many villains they capture or citizens they save. These heroes are sponsored by different companies and work under one of the seven largest corporations in the city.

Enjoyment:

I enjoyed the series more than I though I would. I thought this show would be uninteresting, but I decided to give it a try because I wanted to watch something with some action. I was thoroughly entertained and it was a blast to watch. I can recommend this show to all my friends who like superhero or just hero movies and television shows.

Rewatchability:

This show is definitely rewatchable, it has a fast pace and action. The show is interesting enough for a rewatch especially if you are going to watch the movies and compare.

Rating:

7/10

Recommendations:

Heroman – Another Superhero type show that was written by Stan Lee.

23841

One Piece – A long running and interesting anime that you may or may not like depending on what you want to watch.

20869

 

I do not own any of the above used pictures and/or video they belong to their original creators, Sunrise, Viz Media, Masafumi Nishida and Keiichi Sato.

About dandylion13

I mostly talk about anime, and whatever I feel like on another day. So come on down and read a review!
This entry was posted in Anime, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tiger and Bunny: Bunny Chan and Raccoon

  1. mochirochi says:

    Like you, I didn’t think I would like the anime but I ended up loving it. I did find that the animation got progressively worse with each passing episode, but the story and characters really helped keep this moving. I haven’t watched the movies yet though. I really should be getting on that.

Leave a Reply

