Samurai Flamenco: It Never Stops!

SamuraiFlamencovolume1

The Facts are These:

Masayoshi Hazama is a man who wants to become a superhero even without the powers or the gadgets. Hidenori Gotou is a cop who gets in trouble because of the antics of the so called superhero. These men face many hardships and learns what it takes to be a real hero.

Discoveries:

While watching Samurai Flamenco I enjoyed it originally with a man trying to go against the social norms and become a hero. It reminded me of the Kick-ass movies.

!SPOILER ALERT!

Though afterwards he becomes a real hero and has to fight monsters and after he defeats on another stronger one appears. When this happened I took a double take and thought Masayoshi was having a dream and believed that for a while because it came out of left field.

!SPOILER ALERT!

Though you can say they are satirizing shounen shows like One Piece, Bleach, Naruto and Dragon Ball. They are satirizing the concept and I do enjoy shounen shows, though with shounen shows it feels natural as they progress. Further in their journey they see stronger opponents, though what Samurai Flamenco does is compress that into every five episodes. So you see how stupid the shounen concept is, however it works with long shounen and not a 22 episode show like Samurai Flamenco. Even the characters in the show are at one point “They should try something new” and “This is getting repetitive.” In the end they give this bullshit explanation for the reason the show changed, but it had already become too late and my thoughts on the show were too negative. Gotou was my favourite character and what we learned about him in the end was great and progressed his character. It explained a reason some events happened to him in the show, though it felt like it was tacked on at the last minute.

Samurai Flamenco - OP2 - Large 01

Behind the Scenes:

The series was directed by Takahiro Omori who has directed such series as “Hell Girl,” “Baccano!” and “Durarara!!.” The series was written by Hideyuki Kurata who has written the script for such shows as “Now and Then, Here and There” and “Read or Die.” The series was produced by Manglobe and licensed in America by Aniplex of America. The first opening song was “Just One Life” performed by Spyair and the second opening was “Ai Ai Ai ni Utarete Bye Bye Bye” by FLOW. Here they are for you to enjoy…

 

 

A Brief View of the World:

The story takes place in modern day Japan, then it slowly changes the world and becomes futuristic. I don’t know it changes into something different so it is hard to classify.

Enjoyment:

I somewhat enjoyed it in the beginning, but I could not recommend it to anyone. I don’t know, I might have to rewatch the show and not watch it under such a critical eye and enjoy the show as a satire (maybe that will be a new segment in the distant future).

Samurai Flamenco - OP2 - Large 02

Rewatchability:

I wouldn’t rewatch it because I didn’t enjoy it, but if you enjoy it than it is of a manageable rewatch length.

Rating:

4/10 – It’s Bad

Recommendations:

Tiger and Bunny – For a better Superhero anime.

29466

Heroman – For a Better Superhero anime.

23841

I do not own any of the above used pictures and/or video they belong to their original creators, Manglobe, Aniplex of America etc…

About dandylion13

I mostly talk about anime, and whatever I feel like on another day. So come on down and read a review!
This entry was posted in Anime, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Samurai Flamenco: It Never Stops!

  1. mochirochi says:

    I liked the show a lot more than you did. It did keep changing and deviated from the beginning in a really weird way and I really hated the girl group, but I still enjoyed it. I can’t explain why though, which is weird. I’ve been trying to think of why, but can’t come up with an answer.

    Maybe it’s because it kept my interests and I never knew what would happen next.

    • dandylion13 says:

      That’s why I thought I should give the show another chance in the future. I could see where people would enjoy it and maybe I had to much of a reviewers mind set when watching the show. I was probably being to hard in it, reviewing it immediately after watching it.

Leave a Reply

