Space Brothers: It’s a Long One

37573

The Facts are These:

In the summer of 2006 the brothers Mutta and Hibito see a UFO and decide to become astronauts. Mutta later in life abandons his dream and designs cars while Hibito will become the first Japanese person on the moon. Mutta is later fired from his job and remembers about their promise and applies to JAXA (Japanese Aerospace Exploration Agency) and is accepted. Now we follow Mutta Nanba on his journey to become and astronaut.

Discoveries:

Okay to start off with this the characters in the show are fantastic. They have had 99 episodes to develop and become people on the screen, from Serika being a gluttonous but attractive girl to showing her motivations for being an astronaut. Mutta changed from being a pathetic doubting old man, to a dependable man who developed many things that will help in the future of space travel. Though this is where my big complaint for the show comes from “I hate it when you watch a long show and they do not reach their goal.” This is similar to the original InuYasha series where you watched 167 episodes for them to say we will kill Naraku in the future. I know in both of these cases that both manga’s were incomplete at the time however, I just watched 99 episodes and I better at least see a photo of Mutta on the moon at least. I would have been okay with that but, no, I just get I will see you on the moon… FUCK YOU! I watched around 1980 minutes of this great show to hear that… NO… I would have been okay if they alluded that he went to the moon in the future. For all I know he remained a CAPCOM his whole life. Overall it is a great show, but the ending brings it down for me, it didn’t give me anything for spending so much time on the show and left me to dry.

Look at him when his dream comes true.

Look at him when his dream comes true.

Behind the Scenes:

The series is based on the manga of the same name by author and artist Chuuya Koyama, with this being his best known work. The series was produced by studio A-1 Pictures who have made such series has Sword Art Online and Aldnoah: Zero and it was licensed for distribution in North America by Sentai Filmworks. Due to the show’s long life there are eight openings, I will link to the first opening for you. Overall the openings were okay, but nothing that stood out as amazing. The first opening is “Feel So Moon” by Unicorn. Here it is for you to enjoy…

 

 

A Brief View of the World:

The world of Space Brothers is ours, but in the FUTURE! Space travel and training are still the same, though they are more advanced with them now developing a moon base for future travel to Mars. Other than that the world is the same, there is no futuristic technology in everyone’s everyday life, just space travel is advancing further.

Enjoyment:

I enjoyed the show, it was a great show with a great cast. All of the people seemed like real people and were well done. This is a great show filled with real life suspense, you honestly do not know what is going to happen if a character may accidentally die, or something tragic may happen, the show seems real. Though the ending is what hurt the show for me, I suggest you what until they continue the series or the manga is finished.

Apo (Their Pet Dog) IS YOUR NEW GOD!

Apo (Their Pet Dog) IS YOUR NEW GOD!

Rewatchability:

It is not rewatchable until they do something like a final act in Inuyasha, even then it is 99+ episodes so watch when you have the time.

Rating:

7/10 – It’s good.

Recommendations:

Eden of the East – For another anime with a good story.

Eden_of_the_East_DVD_volume_1

Ghost in the Shell – For a more futuristic anime

8712

 

I do not own any of the above used pictures and/or video they belong to their original creators, A-1 Pictures, Chuuya Koyama and Sentai Filmworks.

About dandylion13

I mostly talk about anime, and whatever I feel like on another day. So come on down and read a review!
This entry was posted in Anime, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Space Brothers: It’s a Long One

  1. miharusshi says:

    I loved this anime! This is actually one of my top favs. I know it was quite disappointing to see an open ending, but the ending didn’t ruin the show for me. Every episode was meaningful and I learned things. I’m really happy that this is a light-hearted and inspiring show atop its realism. It made me think that life is great! 😀 I will rewatch this anytime.

Leave a Reply

