Nobunage the Fool: Fisting with all your MIGHT!

57803

The Facts are These:

A girl from the Western Planet, Jeanne Kaguya d’Arc, saw a heavenly vision of the “Star Messiah” who will save the world. She embarks to the Eastern Planet with Leonardo da Vinci, there they come across Nobunaga the Fool. Alternate universe Nobunaga with mechas, basically sums it up.

Discoveries:

Well I just want to get his out of the way I like my historical shows and I enjoy the futuristic twist with characters from the past. Though when I watched this show all I could think was this show is okay. The mix of great heroes from the past piloting mechs was an interesting idea and could of worked, but it was just an average show and I was not impressed by it. The one thing I thought was absolutely hilarious was Oda Nobunaga’s serious pose… he just makes the fisting motion and this is supposed to show how serious he is. Well I guess you are pretty serious if you want to fist your opponent. The characters are dull, though I found the ending to be not entertaining.

Our Main Leads, Nobunaga and Jeanne

Our Main Leads, Nobunaga and Jeanne

Behind the Scenes:

Nobunaga the fool is an original series created by Shoji Kawamori, whose created Escaflowne and the Macross series. The series was produced by studio Satelight whose other works include Noein and Log Horizon. The series is licensed for streaming by online site Crunchyroll and licensed for distribution by Sentai Filmworks. The series had two opening themes the first was “Fool the World” by Minori Chihara and the second was “Breakthrough” by JAM Project. Here they are for you to enjoy…

 

 

A Brief View of the World:

The world of Nobunaga the Fool is in an alternate universe where  instead of one planet with an eastern and western hemisphere there are two planets called eastern and western. This is an interesting thought, but overall under utilized.

Enjoyment:

I could have lived my whole life without seeing this anime and I would not be missing anything. It was average and I wouldn’t go out of my way to recommend it to someone. They had an idea that has been used before “brining heroes from the past to the future and show how they would be using the new technology.” This idea has been done before better and it is pretty average.

Rewatchability:

Not really worth a rewatch in my opinion, but it is a manageable length of 26 episodes if you want to.

Rating:

5/10 – Meh?

Recommendations:

Sengoku Basara – For a look at the warring States period with magical addition for flashier fights

21849

Fate/Zero – Heroes of the past coming to the future, though hey do not change with the use of technology it is a better example of how this show could have been done.

29490

 

I do not own any of the above used pictures and/or video they belong to their original creators, Satelight, Sentai Filmworks and Shoji Kawamori.

About dandylion13

I mostly talk about anime, and whatever I feel like on another day. So come on down and read a review!
This entry was posted in Anime, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

