The Manga Shelf: Cage of Eden

56963

The Facts are These:

Akira and his classmates are on a plane coming back from America as a school trip, when suddenly the plane crashes. When Akira awakes he is in the middle of the forest surrounded by creatures he has never seen before. It is up to Akira and his friends to survive the perils of the Island of Extinct Beast, their Cage of Eden.

Discoveries:

God, this is a good manga… That’s it, it’s amazing… You want me to say more? Uh, okay. This manga has a great cast of characters, each in the beginning fill a role of a typecast you would normally see in a manga, but because of the amount of content in the series each character can develop and become people. Though that still means that some people will always remain, background level characters, but it is a large cast so it is allowed. The mystery is fulfilling, it seems like it was planned out from the beginning and was slowly revealed until the end where the pieces collide and everything makes sense. Throughout the story you get a feeling that this isn’t the present and when you realize when it takes place, your left with the question, How? That is the only downfall of the manga, you don’t find out how they got there and it makes you wonder what set these events in motion.

The Sabertooth Tiger... This is a pussy compared to later animals

The Sabertooth Tiger… This is a pussy compared to later animals

Behind the Scenes:

Cage of Eden was created by Yoshinobu Yamada who has made such other manga as EX – Shounen Hyouryuu and Deathtopia. There has been no announcement for an anime adaptation of Cage of Eden, which is a shame. The manga was released Weekly Shounen Magazine between November 2008 and January 2013. This manga has been licensed for distribution in North America by publisher Kodansha Comic USA.

The Main Cast (Excluding a few people)

The Main Cast (Excluding a few people)

A Brief View of the World:

The island that Cage of Eden takes place on is different from modern civilization. On this island exist creatures that have long since been extinct and they are as dangerous as you would imagine. Akira and his friend try to survive these creature, but is seems they are not the first humans on this island, but humans have been there a long time before.

The mystery develops further

The mystery develops further

Enjoyment:

I read this manga, while it was being released. The story was thrilling, and you didn’t know if the character you liked would stay or what would happen to each character. It was fair game and that was awesome. This manga is an incredible read and I would recommend anyone to enjoy it.

Rereadability:

This manga is a little hard to reread, because it is 185 chapters. If you wanted you could probably finish it in a day, but it is still a long story. I would recommend a reread because it is a great manga, but it is up to you.

Rating:

9/10

Recommendations:

Suicide Island –  For another survival manga, that has a great cast.

55749

Battle Royale – I have only watched the movie, so I can only recommend that. It is another survival movie on a island, that keeps you watching and waiting for more.

James-Bratten-Battle-Roayle-Poster

 

I do not own any of the above used pictures and/or video they belong to their original creators, Kodansha USA, and Yoshinobu Yamada.

About dandylion13

I mostly talk about anime, and whatever I feel like on another day. So come on down and read a review!
This entry was posted in Review, The Manga Shelf and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Manga Shelf: Cage of Eden

  1. Neru says:

    What a coincidence. I’m also reading this manga right now! I’m up to around chapter 70~ ish. This manga reminds me a lot of those survival death games like Gantz or Deadman Wonderland except that it’s not a game and more like they’re stuck there.

    There’s a ridiculous amount of fan service in here though. I think every chapter there’s a panty shot somewhere lol.

    • dandylion13 says:

      It also reminds me of the survival stories like Battle Royale. There is a ridiculous amount of fan service in the series, but I just ignored it because it didn’t affect how much I enjoyed the series as a whole.

  2. rjamesd9 says:

    I’m reading this one in volumes and mostly through it. Its never been my favorite but it is usually quite enjoyable.

    ps about Battle Royale manga: I read some years ago and it is very gory, nudey and rapey.

    • dandylion13 says:

      I can’t say that this was my favourite manga, but it did have an interesting concept and story.
      I was talking about the Battle Royale movie, I haven’t read the manga for it yet.

  3. Sakura Mikan says:

    I did red this manga too! I love it so so much, I wish it turn to anime so bad! It’s a great manga! I love survival stories, and survival mystrey like cage of eden! I better read it again. Do you know any great survival manga?

  4. lexor831 says:

    I hope this gets a sequel series. It was soo good!

Leave a Reply

