Digimon Adventures Season 1: The Cool Show on the Block

Digimon_Digital_Monsters_Season_1_DVD_Cover

The Facts are These:

On a snowy day in the summer, a group of children are transported to a different world. In the world data takes the form of creature known as Digital Monsters or Digimon. These kids were brought there to save the digital world and with their partner digimon, the Digi-destined will save the digital world and their own.

Discoveries:

I am going to start off this post with my bias, FUCK POKEMON DIGIMON WAS THE SHIT! There now that you know my bias I am going to continue to talk about this show. As I talked about in the post talking about Ash and his development, I talked about how the earlier season of Pokemon had more depth then the later season of the show. Comparing the earlier seasons of Pokemon to Digimon I find Digimon to even deeper then the early season of Digimon. The main focal point of the Digimon is their adventure to save two worlds. In Pokemon the goal is to watch Ash to become the Pokemon Champion and fail miserably every season.

When they first Digivolve  (Sorry about the watermark. I don't know how to get rid of it)

When they first Digivolve
(Sorry about the watermark. I don’t know how to get rid of it)

Behind the Scenes:

The series is based off of a virtual pet toyline of the same name created by Bandai. The series came about through a short film called Digimon Adventure, afterwards Toei Animation requested it being made into a television series. The series is uniques in its dub. In the dub they used shortened names or nicknames for the characters Japanese name. This was not a common practice in the time, where the name uaually changed to an americanized name. An example of this would be in Pokemon Ash Ketchum in the original dub is called Satoshi. Unlike in Digimon Taichi “Tai” Kamiya is called in the original dub Taichi “Tai” Yagami. Comparing the two shows, Digimon was more accurate to the original dub in dialouge, though in the english dub the dialouge had a more humourous tone while the original dub had a serious tone.

The series was directed by Hiroyuki Kakudo who has worked one such series as Digimon Adventure 02, Digital Monster X-Evolution, Rokudenashi Blues 1993, and Powerpuff Girls Z. The characters were designed by Katsuyoshi Nakatsuru and the original kanji in the name were related to luck. The series was produced by Studio Toei Animation and is distibuted in North America by Universal Studio Home Entertainment. The opening song is “Butter-fly” by Koji Wada and the American version is “Digimon Theme” by Paul Gordon, Here are both opening for you to enjoy…

Here is the Japanese Opening…

Here is the nostalgic english opening…

 

A Brief View of the World:

Part of the series takes place in moder day Japan, however the main portion of the series takes place in the Digital World. A world where data is used to build the islands and the creatures.

Enjoyment:

Digimon is a great series, definitely better than Pokemon. Through character development and overall story the series exceeds Pokemon in every way. It has depth and humour, with great designs for the Digimon.

The final battle

The final battle

Rewatchability:

The series is hard to rewatch with a length of 54 episodes. I can only give the recommendation of if you enjoy the show you are going to rewatch, if you don’t enjoy the show you won’n rewatch it. I however will always rewatch the show.

Rating:

7/10

Recommendations:

The Law of Ueki – An interesting shounen show that needs more attention.

the-law-of-ueki-complete-series-dvd-63b7

Medabots – An awesome robot show that I watched with Digimon every saturday morning.

medabots

 

I do not own any of the above used pictures and/or video they belong to their original creators, Toei Animation and Bandai.

About dandylion13

I mostly talk about anime, and whatever I feel like on another day. So come on down and read a review!
This entry was posted in Anime, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Digimon Adventures Season 1: The Cool Show on the Block

  1. josefcd904 says:

    For starters, I am going to watch Digimon Tri this April since it continues there story.
    Also, I think the last time I saw this show had to of been I want to say in 2012, the summer I graduated high school and it still loved it like I did when I was little. I then watched the Adventures 2, which one joke that still is in my head that was in the English Dub was Davis saying “How about we play some Stri-” He was going to say strip poker since they where playing cards. He was interrupted though and you don’t see jokes like that in Pokemon.

    • dandylion13 says:

      I loved the first season of Digimon and the second season. I am extremely excited to watch Digimon Tri. Digimon is such a good franchise.

      • josefcd904 says:

        I did enjoy the forth series as well. The fifth was the only one I did not watch when I was little, but once I got my laptop I wanted to check it out. I did not watch the last version that came out. Nor do I really feel like checking it out. The new one coming out I have a feeling fans from the original series will more then likely try to watch it. I am kind of curious if the characters from Adventures 2 will make an appearance since this would take place after that, I just hope they are a minor role.

      • dandylion13 says:

        I watched the third and fourth. I enjoyed the third and the fourth was okay. The fifth was not that good and I thought the new series was just okay.

        Definitely more people are trying to watch the new series. Some of my friends who barely watch anime are asking me when is it coming out and where can they watch it.

        I hope that they are introduced the series was good and enjoyable. I understand that the original characters will be the main focus, but at least let them be apart of it in some way.

      • josefcd904 says:

        Since what I have heard news wise for it, it seems like it will mostly focus on the original characters, but I hope there is at least some acknowledgement to the others. It could be like how Adventures 2 was where the original characters made an appearance from time to time. But on another note the art looks good in my opinion and not really anything like other Digimon series have been.

      • dandylion13 says:

        Oh no, it looks really different but it is probably to keep up with the times and the character designs are by Atsuya Uki, who worked on Tsuritama.

      • josefcd904 says:

        To me I think it looks a little more mature then the previous series all together. I am also sort of hoping it is a little more mature in a sense as well. If it is not I am still going to try to watch it fully.

      • dandylion13 says:

        Either or it doesn’t matter I am getting more Digimon in my life.

      • josefcd904 says:

        Exactly, that is the best part about it. Unlike Pokemon which airs every week, Digimon happens every few years. It is sort of like a treat to know when the next series is out.

  2. Glad to know there’s someone who enjoys Digimon as much as I do! I must have started getting into Digimon when I was 7, and I’m still biased towards it over Pokémon. I was really excited when I heard the announcement for Tri, and I can’t wait to watch it.

    • dandylion13 says:

      I can’t wait to see it either. I got into Digimon when it premièred I still have the first season on Vhs and the movie. The ones I owned as a kid. God I want to watch them again in excitement for the new season.

      • Same here, I’ve had a lot of good memories with Digimon. I’ve enjoyed the movies and the show, and I also remember that Digimon Rumble Arena 2 was one of my favorite games. Perhaps I should watch Digimon Adventure again for the new season…?

      • dandylion13 says:

        You should definitely watch the show again. I remember trying to get my dad to buy rumble arena 2 for me off of ebay and we were outbid. I then rented it from blockbuster and never returned it. Little did they now many years later they would go out of business and I wouldn’t have to.

      • Haha, lucky! Sadly I don’t have the game with me, and don’t have the money to spend to buy it online… maybe someday.

      • dandylion13 says:

        I don’t have it anymore either lent it to a friend and his little cousin decided to play Frisbee with it and guess what it broke.

  3. zjsans says:

    I completely agree that Digimon Adventure was a FAR better series than Pokemon. Of the first three seasons (the only one’s I’ve watched so far) Digimon Tamers is the best in my opinion but they are all enjoyable. I will also say that I found Adventure to get better as the season progresses, and I love how dark it gets.

    Also Gomamon is awesome despite being one of the more underused characters.

    • dandylion13 says:

      Yeah Gomamon had little to no importance to the story. I am and always will be a fan of the original two series of Digimon, though I enjoy Tamers. I like all of Digimon up to Savers, because I only watched bits and pieces of it.

Leave a Reply

