Seasonal Anime Attempt: Dungeon ni Deai o Motomeru no wa Machigatteiru Darou ka? First Impressions

[soulreaperzone.com]_dngeon_ni_deai_o_mtmeru_no_wa_mchigtteiru_no_drou_ka_-_01_hd_hs.mkv_snapshot_01.55_[2015.04.03_19.10.54]

Let us start off with this new Seasonal Anime Attempt with a series that got better as it progressed, here is “Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon?” or Familia Myth.

As I said this series got better as it progressed so if you want a quick recommendation now before I spoil the show I recommend a watch of the first episode to see if it is your kind of show. The show revolves around Bell Cranel and his contract with the goddess Hestia, with him being the only human with a contract with her. In this world you need a contract with a god or goddess in order to fight well against monsters. The series focuses on Bell Cranel’s love of women and his goal of trying to get stronger.

Our hero Bell Cranel... loosing. Not a good start to his day I guess.

Our hero Bell Cranel… loosing. Not a good start to his day I guess.

I was pleasantly surprised by the series, in the beginning it seemed like it was going to focus on the relationship between Bell and this woman Aiz, but it becomes more than this. When Bell gets a skill that allows him to enhance his skills, he becomes stronger, though this happens after he his saved by Aiz. He later finds himself humiliated and vows to get stronger so this does not happen again. I was not expecting this and I really enjoyed it.

The goddess Hestia, gloating about her CROQUETTES!

The goddess Hestia, gloating about her CROQUETTES!

In the beginning I was resolved to allow this show to become a romance show in a fantasy universe. I was content with that and resolved that this show was going to be mediocre and common like the rest, but it showed its resolve to become better. I was extremely happy about that and wanted more. Sure this show may devolve back into the common formula that we have seen before time and time again, but as of now this show has potential.

I though the tattoo concept for keeping track of the level resembled Beet the Vandel Buster, but I still enjoyed it.

I though the tattoo concept for keeping track of the level resembled Beet the Vandel Buster, but I still enjoyed it.

The characters are pretty generic and nothing special, but they have that charm that makes me want to watch the show a bit more. I would say that this show deserves a couple episode viewing. I am going to watch this show and judge it, but as of now I think it has some promise.

About dandylion13

I mostly talk about anime, and whatever I feel like on another day. So come on down and read a review!
This entry was posted in Seasonal Anime Attempt and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Seasonal Anime Attempt: Dungeon ni Deai o Motomeru no wa Machigatteiru Darou ka? First Impressions

  1. Another one I was checking out! I agree with you completely – this show has potential, and I hope it doesn’t blow it.

  2. lehzalee says:

    Hello! Okay… I admit it isnt THAT bad as I originally thought. I mean, the first impression it gave me was utterly terrible. Not only is it a glorified ripoff of SAO/LH, the impetus behind the MC’s perseverance to fight monsters is because of AN ADOLESCENT CRUSH HAHAHAH sorry im just really amused by the first episode.

    But after reading all these positive reviews on it, I guess I am influenced in some extent and realise that the god and servant plot has potential i guess and overall its quite a fun anime. I shall watch a few more episodes to see how ^^ nice review btw

  3. Has the show ended or it is still being aired?

    -DarkdaemonPK2

Leave a Reply

