Seasonal Anime Attempt: Kyoukai no Rinne First Impression

[OtakuMura] Kyoukai No Rinne - 01 [720p].mp4_snapshot_01.22_[2015.04.08_17.47.03]

From the creator of InuYasha, comes Kyoukai no Rinne. Let’s hope it isn’t as disappointing as InuYasha.

The show revolves around the girl Sakura Mamiya, who has been able to see ghosts since she was a child. One day the student that has been absent all year long finally appears, but no one can see him. Meet Rokudo, a shinigami a that helps ghosts pass on to the after life. Now lets us see these two relationship bloom, or maybe he is just using her for the money.

Isn't this the exact same concept as InuYasha? Two people who were never supposed to meet do. However, they don't like each other, but they will eventually fall in love.

Isn’t this the exact same concept as InuYasha? Two people who were never supposed to meet do. However, they don’t like each other, but they will eventually fall in love. It evens says this basically in the first several seconds of the show.

Okay right off the bat the music in the show really matched the tone of the show. It was classic piano, with a fantastical sound. The spirit worlds is old Japan with a sparkly sky and after that there is really nothing special about this show. I am may sound like I do not like InuYasha from the first comment, but the show was a let down. When I watched it as a kid and the original series ended with no real conclusion I was pissed. I am hoping that this show doesn’t disappoint, but it doesn’t seem to be that good to begin with.

What is with this guys eyes? He is the only character in the whole episode to have eyes like this... I don't understand.

What is with this guys eyes? He is the only character in the whole episode to have eyes like this… I don’t understand.

I am going to name a few small things I liked about the show. I enjoyed the art style on certain things, like the Haori, or when he is fighting. The major concept I like is that I like that you have to pay to use the spiritual items. It is a small thing, but I found that to be an interesting concept. I do not understand why it is Japanese currency for an item that exists in the spiritual world. What would they use the money for, that doesn’t make an sense. I mean seriously what are ghosts going to use money for clothes, NOPE, they can’t wear non ethereal items. So what is the use with the money… UGHHHH!

For some reason or another the subtitle during this scene cut out, so I don't know what to call it. So I will call it... Super Mega Ultra WHEEL OF FORTUNE!

For some reason or another the subtitle during this scene cut out, so I don’t know what to call it. So I will call it… Super Mega Ultra WHEEL OF FORTUNE!

Overall, the show feels dated, it feels like it is similar to InuYahsa in premise, but now it doesn’t work. I mean every year we have many amazing new and innovative series, this show seems to be a relic. If you are a fan of InuYasha continue the show, it may be worth your wild. I am not going to continue the show, I don’t think it holds up to the other shows that air as of late. I guess since the original series of InuYasha was such a large portion of my childhood I held high expectations for this show, but it is basically InuYasha 2.0.

About dandylion13

I mostly talk about anime, and whatever I feel like on another day. So come on down and read a review!
This entry was posted in Seasonal Anime Attempt and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Seasonal Anime Attempt: Kyoukai no Rinne First Impression

  1. krystallina says:

    The teacher’s eyes actually do have a reason (sort of) which will be covered in a future episode. I haven’t watched the first episode yet, but I probably will follow the series just to hear Yamaguchi & Yukino again.

  2. miharusshi says:

    Dropped this anime. I felt that its elements had already been done before, or recycled as you said. The ghost busting part wasn’t all that exciting. And it seems like the jokes are mainly what will keep the show running. But the gags didn’t work for me.

Leave a Reply

