Eden of the East: I AM THE SKY KING!

Eden_of_the_East_DVD_volume_1

The Facts are These:

On November 22, 2010, ten missles strike Japan, however this resulted in no casualties, this was later refered to as Careless Monday. Later, Saki Moromi is visiting Washington D.C. where she meets a naked man, who introduces himself as Akira Takizawa. He has forgotten who he is and why he is there, also why does he have a phone that has 8,200,000,000 yen (around $86,000,000) in digital cash.

Discoveries:

This is an interesting show that is constantly makes you ask, who is behind this event and why are they doing this. It makes you think and that makes this an interesting series. The characters are well developed. The show looks okay, but there are better looking show. This show though is incomplete, you don’t get the full story unless you watch the two movies that take place after the series.

Takizawa and

Takizawa and Moromi

Behind the Scenes:

This is an original series created, directed and written by Kenji Kamiyama. With his other works include 009 Re:Cyborg and Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex. The series was produced by Production I.G., and is licensed in North America by Funimation, in Australia by Madman Entertainment and in the United Kingdom by Manga Entertainment.

The opening for this series is “Falling Down” by Oasis. I was surprised to hear an English opening when I originally watched this show. I was not expecting to hear Oasis perform the opening. Here it is for you to enjoy…

 

A Brief View of the World:

The series takes place in modern day Japan, there is not much different to this Japan than our own. The exception to this being the Mr. Outside, someone who controls the flow of money to the point of giving several people millions of dollars.

The Cellphone for the Seleção

The Cellphone for the Seleção

Enjoyment:

This series is great and has amazing story, characters and themes. This show makes you think and wonder why these events are happening and who is controlling them. It is a great show, but it is incomplete without the additional movies and that takes away from the series.

Rewatchability:

This show is definitely rewatchable with 11 episodes of content, but realize that you will have to watch the two additional movies that come after the series to get the complete series.

Rating:

7/10

Recommendations:

Zankyou no Terror – A great looking and sounding psychological thriller.

Terror_in_Resonance_Poster

Death Note – For a great psychological series with an interesting thought process.

9453

 

I do not own any of the above used pictures and/or video they belong to their original creators, Production I.G. and Kenji Kamiyama.

About dandylion13

I mostly talk about anime, and whatever I feel like on another day. So come on down and read a review!
This entry was posted in Anime, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Eden of the East: I AM THE SKY KING!

  1. Haha yes – Eden of the East review! A great read. For some reason, I watched this series on the Internet with the OP you listed, but when I bought the DVD Blu-Ray release, it came with some instrumental jazz stuff with the same video. Ugh, I miss that song!

  2. I liked this anime, aside from the ending. I wish they would have made a longer series rather than finish it off with two movies. I preferred the show over the follow up films.

  3. jimbelton says:

    Can’t agree more with your recommendation of Deathnote. I introduced it to a friend who had never watched manga, and he and his daughter loved it. The first long arc in particular is some of the best serial story telling I’ve ever seen. It has the same “glued to your seat” suspense that the first seasons of Dexter or the Black List had for me, but with a fascinating supernatural element that they are missing. I think what I love best about it is that the fact that there are two amazing characters in opposition to each other, and that for a long time, I was unsure who was (for me) the antagonist, and who was the protagonist. I give Deathnote ***** A+, despite the fact the ending is a little weaker than the first two thirds of the series.

    • dandylion13 says:

      The first two thirds of the series is the strongest part of Death Note. I feel that the live-action movies did a great job changing the story enough to make it interesting and I found it more enjoyable. The first season of both The Blacklist and Dexter were great and I marathoned both of those shows first seasons in one sitting. Thanks for the comment.

  4. adj42 says:

    I thought Zankyo would be a great anime (considering who worked on it) but i ended up enjoying Space Dandy a lot more. Not nearly enough realism for the subject matter, and it falls short in a lot of ways.

    • dandylion13 says:

      Looking back the show could have done more to make it real and more relatable. I have not watched much of space dandy to make much of an opinion on it but it just seems like an enjoyable episodic comedy.

Leave a Reply

