Evangelion 2.22 You Can (not) Advance: You Can’t Stop Me… I AM A MAN!

220px-RoE20Poster

The Facts are These:

Earlier Rei and Shinji fought against the attack of Angels against humanity. Now with the onslaught increasing and the Third Impact coming closer, two new Eva pilots Mari and Asuka appear. Fighting with the Evas, these four youths fight to save mankind.

Discoveries:

This movie looks great and has amazing visuals. I reviewed Neon Genesis Evangelion on this blog, I now have a point of comparison. Mari was not in the original series, but she is a welcomed addition and I found everyone else to not be a polarising, especially Shinji is not a annoying. The movie has fantastic action and characters, with the design of the angels looking great and improving the original series.

This movie introduces Asuka and Mari to the movie franchise. Mari being a welcomed addition

This movie introduces Asuka and Mari to the movie franchise. Mari being a welcomed addition

Behind the Scenes:

Evangelion 2.22 is based on the 1995 anime Neon Genesis Evangelion written and directed by Hideaki Anno. Hideaki Anno wrought and directed the original series and sequels movies to the original series as well as Gunbuster. The movie was produced and co-distributed by Studio Khara, Hideaki’s own company and Studio Gainax which released the originals series. The movie was distributed in North America by Funimation.

Here is the English trailer for the series, for you to enjoy…

 

A Brief View of the World:

The world of Evangelion is our own world though the second impact made Tokyo-3 all that remains of Japan, with giant creature known as Angels attack the city trying to eradicate all of humankind. The city is fortified for attack prepared with underground bunkers and the base of NERV underneath to defend the city and guard an entity that can bring along a third impact.

This fight scene was incredible to watch.

This fight scene was incredible to watch.

Enjoyment:

This movie improves on the original series and the first movie. It expands on them and improves the story. It is interesting and better than the previous that made me excited to see the third movie.

Rewatchability:

This movie is rewatchable with a runtime of 108 minutes, this movie is worth the watch. Though take into consideration that you will have to watch the first movie to understand this movie. Though you do not have to watch the original series to understand this movie.

Rating:

7/10

Recommendations:

Code Geass – A great psychological series, that keeps you thinking and entertained.

9391

Phantom ~ Requiem for the Phantom – For a great series that makes it have interesting characters and a storyline.

22470

 

I do not own any of the above used pictures and/or video they belong to their original creators, Studio Khara, Hideaki Anno and Funimation.

About dandylion13

I mostly talk about anime, and whatever I feel like on another day. So come on down and read a review!
This entry was posted in Anime, Movies, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Evangelion 2.22 You Can (not) Advance: You Can’t Stop Me… I AM A MAN!

  1. Hooray for Evangelion and 2.22! Nice little review and recap of the series, BTW. I always love reading peoples’ drastically varying views on this controversial series.

  2. Ray says:

    An absolutely brilliant film.

    When is the finale of Rebuild of Evangelion coming out….

    • dandylion13 says:

      It is is a good movie the last movie has yet to get a release date. If I remember correctly it was supposed to come out this yeah, but he changed the date and has not given a replacement date yet

  3. (Off topic, sorry)
    Have you watched Your Lie in April? If so have do you have a review or an article on it? If no, may I recommend it.

    • dandylion13 says:

      I have been wanting to watch it for a while, I just haven’t had the time. I am probably going to watch it soon though.

      • It’s honestly quite amazing, it’s a show where basically every episode gets me emotional. The music is also honestly overwhelming, I love classical and orchestral music so this sound track is basically heaven.

        I’m up to episode nine right now, but here’s a sample of the music, don’t look at the comments.

      • dandylion13 says:

        Decided to marathon the show it was amazing. God damn the show is so emotional and the characters are developed enough that you cheer when something great happens and mourn when something negative happens. Damn it is a great show.

      • WHAT? You’re finished? Did you sleep, eat, shower or go outside at all?

        I’m currently in episode 11, though I feel like I know the ending already (it’s foreshadowed heavily), I’m watching it for the ride.

        If the anime is able to keep this quality till the final episode then I’ll write an article on it.

      • dandylion13 says:

        I haven’t been feeling to well lately so it was something to keep my mind off of it.

      • So, the big question, remember that top 30 really out dated Anime list you had… Does this series crack the top 30 and if so… Where?

      • dandylion13 says:

        Oh, without a doubt. I think I would put it at #9. AND WHAT DO YOU MEAN OUT OF DATE. I updated that thing like… four months ago. But I guess now you are correct it is out of date because I need to change it for some additions.

  4. I definitely think Mari is an interesting addition to the series, and I like the idea that she’s half British (having been named after a British warship, and the databook says she was born in England). She’s arguably my favourite change from the original series!!

    • dandylion13 says:

      I agree it was an interesting change from the original series that showed the audience we were not watching the same series that we knew before just looking better. There was going to be some things that are new as well.

Leave a Reply

