Anime North: Saturday – Day Two of the Convention

an-2015-logo-blk-text

With the biggest and probably the most hectic day of the whole convention. We worm our way through the thousands of people to get our prizes and dreams. Also some anime if it is a good price.

Saturday is the busiest day by far and I had some great finds this day. We woke up and headed to one of the viewing rooms to watch CyberSix. They showed the first two episodes which was awesome because I learnt that it was on DVD again. After that we hit the dealers room again and I bought the Kamen Rider Gaim belt, he started negotiations with this is the last one in stock and that he couldn’t budge the price. I bought it for 140 and I was okay with that because I took into consideration that it is an import and when was I going to see another one. I bought it and paid an additional $15 for a kiwi Lockseed.

IMG_1051

This is such a good series.

After that I hit all of anime sellers because I was determined to find Katanagatari volume 2 after finding volume 1 I was determined to walk away with both volumes. After hitting every anime booth I was left with the last booth. I looked on the shelves and there was no Katanagatari in sight. I gave up for a moment when I asked if he had it or not the guy went and asked his boss. His boss brought out a box with the items that did not fit on the shelf and there it was Katanagatari Volume 2! It was priced at $95 and I haggled it down to $80. I was on top of the world, though later I noticed there was very minor damage to the front, it was not enough to complain about because I obtained a series that I have always wanted.

Man I was on top of the world after getting this series, I felt like I could fight a dragon.

Man I was on top of the world after getting this series, I felt like I could fight a dragon.

I knew I had to get something else I had passed on the day before. The original complete series of Cardcaptors for $100. This was a great deal and I decided to wait on it. This wait did not pay off and it was gone before I could act on it. After that I bought Captain Tylor on DVD and some small items. I also met Arkada from Glass Reflections at the convention, He seemed tired and overwhelmed at the time, I also remembered from his blog that he isn’t the most sociable person. So I shook his hand and walked off, I also felt bad for him some guy was asking him a real extreme question and I could see that he just wanted to enjoy the convention for himself.

A recreation of our Glorious meeting...

A recreation of our Glorious meeting…

 

After that we left to eat dinner at the Japanese restaurant Ginko. Ginko was a great experience and I saw some amazing things for the first time. Before going we specifically reserved the Teppan Yaki table because it has always been something that I wanted to experience. Though it did not start off in the best way, we were made to wait an additional half hour for our table because the previous people were late. They let us sit at the table, where we watched the late group eat a great meal. The waitress was not the most competent person, there was a bit of a language barrier. For instance I asked for Iced Tea and she gave me a fork and knife… okay I’ll take that, but could I get an Iced Tea. Also she had a hard time when we were ordering Hot Sake. I don’t know why or what the problem was, but it was confusing to her.

Anyway onto the good part the meal and it was impressive. I’ll have pictures describing the meal below.

I ordered Hot Sake to try for the first time and it hit me hard, but I bounced back pretty quick.

I ordered Hot Sake to try for the first time and it hit me hard, but I bounced back pretty quick.

The meal we ordered came with a garden salad with a great seasame seed dressing.

The meal we ordered came with a garden salad with a great sesame seed dressing.

Here is the whole Onion Trick being done in front of us.

This was the finished product and it was delicious

This was the finished product and it was delicious

With that all said and done they added an automatic $8 tip, and apparently the waitress messed up again and forgot to tell us we could get the rice fried and this would entail more tricks. We were told this by our chef, who was an amazing guy and made the experience more enjoyable. Well that was the end of the day for us, or was it?

The haul for Saturday was glorious!

The haul for Saturday was glorious!

About dandylion13

I mostly talk about anime, and whatever I feel like on another day. So come on down and read a review!
This entry was posted in My Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Anime North: Saturday – Day Two of the Convention

  1. Cool that you got to meet Arkada himself, even though he sounded quite tired. Ya know, I’m going to try that haggling business next time I go to a con, because you managed to get some pretty good deals! Nice haul, the onion trick was neat too!

    • dandylion13 says:

      Usually most sellers are open to haggling but there are the sellers that will not even acknowledge the art of haggling. One seller, would not come down $5 dollars on this item he had marked for $100. When I researched it later, the manufacturer sold it for $52. I am happy I did not get it. Also if you are wondering the item that I was talking about was The Daily Lives of High School Boys Premium Set.

  2. Cassandra says:

    Wait, What?! You saw Arkada from Glass Reflections at the convention? Wow! I love, no, admire his work on his Youtube Anime Reviewer Channel. I wasn’t sure he had a blog but I will have to look it up later if he does happen to have one.

Leave a Reply

