Eureka Seven AO: WHAT THE HELL!!!!

Now the finale for Eureka Seven week, we conclude on the the most controversial addition to the series. Also, Happy Anniversary to Me! Thank you very much, in one years time I have acquired over 350 followers and have made almost 200 posts. I want to thank you all very much and I hope to continue this for another year. Thank you and hear is to another great year.

Eureka Seven Ao Poster

The Facts are These:

Set in an Okinawa that is trying to fight win its independence, well follow the young boy Ao Fukai. When a series of events leads him to awakening the Mark 1, it is up to him to help the people who once treated him with disdain.

Discoveries:

Eureka Seven AO is the most disappointing anime that I have ever watched. I am a big fan of Eureka Seven, with this being justified by there being a Eureka Seven week. This show disappointed me because I did not understand the choices they chose to make. The series on its own is okay, though the fact that it is connected to one of my favourite series makes it harder for me to understand it. The show seems to be a mixture of both the original series and the movie, though there seems to be more of the series in it. I do not understand the show and my one huge complaint for the series is… WHERE IS MAURICE, MATER AND LINK? Do they not matter to Eureka and Renton? They are not even mentioned with the statement that you have two brothers and a sister. Once they gave birth to their own children were they like “Screw these kids they don’t share our blood with them!” This show does not express the emotions and feelings that the original series expressed.

Nirvash looks like a badass in this scene!

Nirvash looks like a badass in this scene!

Well, another part that I am not too fond of is that the series becomes more of a monster of the week type of show, where the original was a war of attrition between two groups. I felt it took away more of the human aspects of the original Eureka Seven. The characters are okay, I enjoyed watching Ivica and Truth on the screen the most, with Ao being an okay lead. His name sounded like a pain to say… get it? Ao sounds like ow… Screw you I thought it was funny. 

Who's that Pokemon?

Who’s that Pokemon?

Behind the Scenes:

The series is the sequel of the 2005 series Eureka Seven, directed by Tomoki Kyoda, with RahXephon and Eureka Seven being the series he is the most known for. The series was written by Sho Aikawa, with his other works include UN-GO, Fullmetal Alchemist (2003), Neo Ranga and Martian Successor Nadesico.  The series was produced by studio BONES and is licensed in North America by Funimation.

The opening has two opening, the first being “Escape” by Hemenway and…

“Bravelue” by FLOW, here they are for you to enjoy…

 

A Brief View of the World:

Eureka Seven AO takes place in an alternate Okinawa Japan. This alternate reality mixes the modern day Okinawa and the universe of Eureka Seven. This can be seen through the existence of LFO’s and Scub Coral.

Women needs to get her definition of kind checked out... They just murdered thousands of people.

Women needs to get her definition of kind checked out… They just murdered thousands of people.

Enjoyment:

I can only guess that if someone watched this show without seeing Eureka Seven that they would enjoy it. However, if you watched the original series, this feels like a weak successors that does not really add to the mythos of the original series. That being said the animation is good, and the soundtrack is fits well with the show. I can probably say that if this was it’s own standalone series without any connection to the original Eureka Seven it would have been more well received. Though, watching the series a second time with the mindset of it being a standalone series helped me to get a better opinion of the show.

Rewatchability:

This series is not rewatchable, there is not much you would gain from a rewatch. I could only suggest a rewatch if you wanted to give the show a second chance.

Rating:

I have two ratings for this show, because I think it needs it.

Fan of the original series: 5/10

Newcomer to the franchise: 7/10

I honestly thought this was going to be how I felt when watching the series a second time.

I honestly thought this was going to be how I felt when watching the series a second time.

Recommendations:

Eureka Seven – For the predecessor with the most..ecessor?

14505

Martian Successor Nadesico – For a great sci-fi mech series with an enthralling plot.

Martian_Successor_Nadesico_DVD

 

I do not own any of the above used pictures and/or video they belong to their original creators, Studio Bones and Funimation.

About dandylion13

I mostly talk about anime, and whatever I feel like on another day. So come on down and read a review!
This entry was posted in Anime, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eureka Seven AO: WHAT THE HELL!!!!

Leave a Reply

