Seasonal Anime Attempt: GATE First Impressions

[Soulreaperzone.com] GATE - 01 HD CR.mkv_snapshot_00.59_[2015.07.03_17.25.36]

Now it is time to watch the first episode of a anime that I have been reading the manga for. I hope I don’t get disappointed.

The anime takes place in modern day Japan where a Gate suddenly appears in the middle of a city. With the help of the Otaku and army lieutenant Itami Youji, many lives were saved from the army that appeared from the Gate armed with medieval weapons, magic and dragons. Now an exploratory force has been set to the other side of the Gate to conquer and gain restitution for the damages.

An Otaku by my own heart

An Otaku by my own heart

Itami Youji is an okay protagonist, as of this moment in the anime he has received more development than he did in the first chapter which is always good. The anime starts off a little slow. I wanted to see the action, but it was slow to get to the fight. Other than that I enjoyed seeing the bureaucracy in invading this inter-dimensional country and that made the whole ordeal seem more real.

I enjoyed the fact that the dragons weren't impervious to the bullets because whenever we see dragons in they are usually behemoths that we can't hurt with modern weapons. This was a refreshing change.

I enjoyed the fact that the dragons weren’t impervious to the bullets because whenever we see dragons in they are usually behemoths that we can’t hurt with modern weapons. This was a refreshing change.

I’ve been reading the manga for a while and my major complaint for this episode is that it takes the anime a full episode to show what the manga did in half a chapter. The majority of this episode is filler which is a shame. I can understand explaining more and filling up time, but I mean an anime episode usually encompasses 2-3 chapters of a manga. Though this complaint may be invalid because it based off a light novel. So maybe in the light novel it gets into more characterization in the beginning than the manga.

The GATE is such an interesting concept the more we see of it.

The GATE is such an interesting concept the more we see of it.

Overall, since I know it is going to get better than this I am definitely going to continue to watch this anime. Since it has a 24 episode run I know it is going to hopefully not take away much from the original source material.

About dandylion13

I mostly talk about anime, and whatever I feel like on another day. So come on down and read a review!
This entry was posted in Seasonal Anime Attempt and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Seasonal Anime Attempt: GATE First Impressions

  1. I have not watched anime in along time so I might check this out. I completely agree with you about the dragons. That kind of stuff always irritates me. Where can I pick this up or order online?

    • dandylion13 says:

      If you live in North America you can watch it legally on Crunchyroll.com a week after the episode aired in Japan for free, or that day for a subscription. If you live outside of North America, just search up the title “Gate: Jieitai Kanochi nite” and add English Sub to the end in Google to find the anime.
      It is currently airing in Japan, so you can pick up a physical copy, that will probably come out some time next year. Though I wish it was sooner.

  2. akaba says:

    I’ll be honest with you. I picked this up completely randomly three or four days ago. And although I wasn’t expecting anything too great, I was still sort of disappointed with the whole of the first episode. I won’t really be watching unless the next few episodes aren’t absolutely amazing.

Leave a Reply

