Ah! My Goddess: God Really Does Exist!

17841

The Facts are These:

Keiichi Morisato is going to university, but he has not luck. One day after an especially hard day he decides to call his senior. However, he is connected to the Goddess Hotline, with the mysterious woman Belldandy appears in front of him in his room.

Discoveries:

This series good, it is a series that makes you feel warm and fuzzy. Belldandy would definitely be someone you would want in your life, which make the show even more watchable. Some of the problems I found is that I hated Skuld. I mean she was so annoying, I wish they would at least discipline her for some of the shit she pulled. The romance between Belldandy and Keiichi felt genuine, they faced problems, persevered and worked to build a better relationship.

This was the moment I realized that Belldandy actually cared for Keichi in more than just an Goddess way.

This was the moment I realized that Belldandy actually cared for Keiichi in more than just an Goddess way.

Behind the Scenes:

The series is based off of the manga of the same name, written and illustrated by Kosuke Fujishima. His other works include You’re Under Arrest, and as the character designer for several “Tales of…” games. Some of these games include Tales of Symphonia, Tales of Abyss, and Tales of Vesperia. The series was directed Hiroaki Goda, with his other works including Bubblegum Crisis, and the character designs for Please Twins, Please Teachers and Amagami SS. The series was produced by Anime International Company, with the first season licensed in North America by Media Blasters and the second season licensed by Funimation. The series is licensed in the United Kingdom by MVM Films.

The opening for season 1 is “Open Your Mind” by Yoko Ishida…

The opening for season two is “Color of Happiness” by Yoko Ishida…

 

A Brief View of the World:

The world of Ah! My Goddess is the same as our own, however the existence of Gods, Goddesses and Demons exist. These deities seem to take their inspiration from Norse Mythology. This can be seen through the mention of Yggdrasil, Fenrir, Valkyrie and Sleipnir, all important aspects in Norse Mythology.

These guys always cracked me up

These guys always cracked me up

Enjoyment:

This series was enjoyable to watch. Every episode was it’s own contained story concerning the characters and there was a charm to each episode. The characters are fun, with each one of them not being tiresome to watch.

Rewatchability:

The series has a charm to it that makes it enjoyable to watch the episode again and again. The characters and stories can be average at times, but it is still fun to watch the episodes for the interactions.

Rating:

7/10

Recommendations:

Binbougami Ga! – For another show where a god becomes part of a humans life. Though this is more comedy focused than romance.

39333

Golden Time – For an interesting romance show, that has a good cast.

golden-time

 

I do not own any of the above used pictures and/or video they belong to their original creators, Anime International Company, Media Blasters and Funimation.

About dandylion13

I mostly talk about anime, and whatever I feel like on another day. So come on down and read a review!
This entry was posted in Anime, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ah! My Goddess: God Really Does Exist!

  1. I enjoyed this series too. It is light and fluffy, like angel food cake with strawberry sauce.

    • dandylion13 says:

      Yeah the series is just relaxing to much. It is not bogged down by any extra things added to it. It is its own entity and progresses through the story and a good pace.

  2. I haven’t watched this series, but from your recommendations section I did enjoy Good Luck Girl.

  3. miharusshi says:

    I first saw this show on TV, then watched it on subs. Enjoyed it for the laughs and the romance aspect. Oddly, I didn’t hate anyone on the show. I honestly found the Goddess siblings (yes, including Skuld) interesting to watch. But yeah, amen to your comment about Belldandy.

    • dandylion13 says:

      It was just me with Skuld though because I have had to deal with some of similar shit. Like finishing a report and the power goes out causing you to lose hours of work. That just really hit a cord.

  4. LitaKino says:

    I’ve never seen this I’ve been meaning to for the longest >.<

  5. rjamesd9 says:

    I read some of the manga years ago. Fairly charming. I do remember liking the other sisters better instead of Belldandy.

Leave a Reply

