Seasonal Anime Attempt: Dragon Ball Super First Impression

Dragon Ball Super

I usually don’t do first impressions on sequels, but since it has been 15 years since the last season, I will make an exception.

The series resume 6 months after the fight with Kid Buu. We see Goku is hard at working plowing the yard and that Gohan and Videl are getting married. Across the galaxy we see Lord Beerus destroying after a planet for some greasy food. With the Supreme Kai looking concerned about this.

I just kept saying in my head "Last Time on Dragon Ball Z!'

I just kept saying in my head “Last Time on Dragon Ball Z!’

So off the bat I am pumped to see a new season of Dragon Ball and what better way to start the episode off with a “Last Time on Dragon Ball Z!” segment where we see clips from the original series showing the audience where we are in the plot. This was a cool nod to the original show and made me look forward to the rest of the show. Other than that though this episode seems to be living up to the original series because the majority of the episode is filled with just a filler side plot.

Even with his Japanese voice Goku is still a badass.

Even with his Japanese voice Goku is still a badass.

It seems though that the series is going to be an alternate retelling of the Battle of Gods movie, which sucks. I would have like for them to assume that we have watched the movie already instead of retelling the same story that we have already seen. But, what can you do. Another point that about the show is that since I am listening to the Japanese dub, it is not the same as the American dub. I am not saying it is bad, but when you have watched this show for so long, it is hard to listen to another voice come out of a memorable characters mouth.

Oh, Master Roshi, even after 15 years you have never changed.

Oh, Master Roshi, even after 15 years you haven’t changed.

Overall, I am probably going to wait for this show to be dubbed before I continue to watch it because of the voice actors. I just can’t get used to the voices.

About dandylion13

I mostly talk about anime, and whatever I feel like on another day. So come on down and read a review!
This entry was posted in Seasonal Anime Attempt and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Seasonal Anime Attempt: Dragon Ball Super First Impression

  1. LitaKino says:

    I agree with you on a few things about the voices being the biggest but let’s see where the series ends up going I said I was going to continue watching even Though the voices annoyed I’m debating that currently haha lol

  2. i hear ya about the voices I don’t think that its bad but….but watching dragon ball on toonami is what I remember most
    TJ-

  3. miharusshi says:

    I never finished watching DB and DBZ on subs/Japanese dub. Saw the thing on TV locally dubbed. They did a pretty good job here. Seems like I’ll need to get used to the Jap dub if I will ever consider watching this which, as far as I can tell, seems to be a slice-of-life rendition of the aftermath. lol

Leave a Reply

