Seasonal Anime Attempt: Overlord First Impression

Overlord

Oh, look another series where the main character is stuck in an overly intricate video game. How original.

The main character of this series has been playing the game Yggdrasil for years. He decides to stay logged into the game as the game permanently closes its servers. However, he notices that after the game was supposed to have shut down it is still going on. In fact the game has changed. His character hub is gone and he can smell and touch the NPC’s. Even the emotionless NPC’s are moving around and conversing. What has happened to the game, even worse why can’t he log out.

The way this game is described makes me want to play an MMO right now.

The way this game is described makes me want to play an MMO right now.

This genre is impossible not to compare to two different anime, Sword Art Online and Log Horizon. I feel that it does a better job of being trapped in a video game than Sword Art Online, but not as well as Log Horizon. Sword Art Online made it a simulated universe, even with the artificial food they could not really interact with the video game. Overlord shows that the character can interact with NPC’s and he can experience smell and touch as well. Log Horizon I think better accomplishes the feel of being trapped in a video game because of the obscure rules and things needed to be accomplished. What I liked that Overlord did was that the Hub was gone. He had to figure out how to use magic and skills that would have been easy to use in the past.

This staff sounds so BADASS!

This staff sounds so BADASS!

With that said, this first episode is all exposition and I enjoyed. I know some people who have read my other First Impressions may say, “But didn’t you say Rokka no Yuusha had too much exposition and it took away from the first episode.” I did say that, but my counter argument is that Rokka no Yuusha teased me with a great fight scene for a couple minutes than gave me twenty minutes of exposition. I don’t want to be told to sit down and listen after seeing an epic battle. The first episode did a great job showing off the main character, what his reasoning was and why he is doing what he is doing.

Momonga looks so good. You can notice a bit that there is CG involved, but it looks so interesting.

Momonga looks so good. You can notice a bit that there is CG involved, but it looks so interesting.

Overall, I will definitely continue to watch Overlord. It has a lot of potential and I want to see more of where this show is going.

About dandylion13

I mostly talk about anime, and whatever I feel like on another day. So come on down and read a review!
This entry was posted in Seasonal Anime Attempt and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Seasonal Anime Attempt: Overlord First Impression

  1. Hey I love your blog posts so I nominated you for the Sunshine Award! I hope that you accept! http://animereviewergirl.com/2015/07/10/another-sunshine-award-nomination-yay-😆/

Leave a Reply

