Seasonal Anime Attempt: God Eater First Impression

God Eater

How do you eat a God? Well find out next time on Dragon Ball Z… Wait. Shit wrong show!

In a post apocalyptic future the world has been attacked by Aragami, giant monsters that eat people basically. Humanity has hidden themselves in a walled off city protected by the organization Fenrir. Fenrir uses people that are compatible with their giant swords and guns called God Arcs. Lenka is a young man who survived outside the walls of the city, when he arrives finds out he is compatible with the New-Type God Arc. Now with his new found weapon he becomes a member of Fenrir, a God Eater.

Angsty lead is angsty is no surprise to the story.

Angsty lead is angsty is no surprise to the story.

First thing you are going to notice is that this show is 99% CG, I’m not saying 100% because there may been a single frame of animation thrown in there. So because the CG is better than average it is interesting to watch it. I am not saying it is great, I can notice that some of the lighting seems off and some lines that should be straight seem jagged, making it look unappealing at point. But, for a completely CG series they have done a better job then most shows, making it still retain the qualities of a anime.

The God Arc of the series is just meh. I mean cool it could transform into a gun, but that isn't anything new. It is like a group of RPG fans boys got to together and decided that whatever they thought was cool from other games they were going to put in theirs.

The God Arc of the series is just meh. I mean it’s cool it can transform into a gun, but that isn’t anything new. It is like a group of RPG fans boys got to together and decided that whatever they thought was cool from other games they were going to put in theirs.

The story seems average, making it look like a cut and paste of Attack on Titan. The Attack on Titan manga appeared a year before the original God Eater game, so you can say they copied Attack on Titan. The story though seems pretty generic with the main character as of the first episode having no real character other than he wants to kill the Aragami. The rest of the cast had no real development either. This was not done to make us understand the world more either. The main focus of the first episode was Lenka needs to train, but rebels to help people. That was the plot of the first episode summed up in one line.

When anyone else saw this scene did they expect it to go all Final Fantasy on us.

When anyone else saw this scene did they expect it to go all Final Fantasy on us.

For the episode to be delayed, I am assuming that the animation was worst than what we saw today. I would actually recommend skipping, I don’t think that this is going to do anything new. As well, the story seems pretty generic and there are better anime that have come out this season that you could put your time into.

About dandylion13

I mostly talk about anime, and whatever I feel like on another day. So come on down and read a review!
This entry was posted in Seasonal Anime Attempt and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Seasonal Anime Attempt: God Eater First Impression

  1. whattythink says:

    I am actually surprised you would recommend we skip this. I have yet to watch the episode but often when I’m scouting for new anime and I see the name Ufotable, I instantly assume greatness to come. Now I’m afraid to watch this lol… I don’t want Ufotable to disappoint me now.

    • dandylion13 says:

      In my mind it did not stand up to Fate/Zero or Kara no Kyoukai. It had an average story and you were not really able to see Ufotable’s great animation because of the use of CG. Give it a watch if you want, it just wasn’t for me.

  2. Video game based animes are seldom good. Shame because I liked the studio’s work on the Fate shows.

  3. The Unknown says:

    Seriously…. why everyone think that the anime is bad? I mean only 2 episodes are out, there is long way to go. Even the story itself is not fully shown. You are turning down the anime too fast.

    Also I disagree with you about God Eater being copy of Attack on Titan. First chapter of AoT was released at September 2009 but God Eater was announced on July 2009 and released in February 2010… on to mention that it was planned couple years ( at least ) before that. I don’t blame you, you just didn’t take the time and materials, even the budget needed to create a game as a factors.

    I don’t want to argue with you, in fact bout AoT and GE were created at the same time IMO but still, you should have made your research better.

    • dandylion13 says:

      Seasonal Anime Attempt is a quick first impression done without any research. If I feel the need to look into something it is not in much detail, that is saved for the more extensive weekly reviews. I appreciate your viewpoints on the anime however, that will not change that fact that I do not like the anime and in my opinion I thought my readers should skip it. Good on you for liking it I thought it wasn’t worth my time when there are better shows out there to watch.

      • The Unknown says:

        True… I understand you for not liking it, every person has their preferences. I was more angry over the statement of GE being copy of AoT which is not true and also very misunderstood. Many people keep saying that without bothering to double check for sure.

Leave a Reply

