Digimon Story Cyber Sleuth: HOLY SHIT! A NEW DIGIMON GAME

Digimon Story Cyber Sleuth

Well here come the first new review in a long time about my most recent obsession, Digimon Story Cyber Sleuth. I have 60+ into this game and I am determined to get all the Badass Digimon! P.S. This ones a LONG REVIEW!

First off the bat as someone who has played many (And I mean MANY) RPG’s I can say that the overall difficulty of the fights as you progress are extremely easy. There was probably only one or two times where I felt that I was under-levelled and those were respectively the first of the Royal Knights Sidequests and the final fight of the Legendary Cup. Other than that if you play this game like any other RPG and fight every enemy that you encounter the main story will be easy. Even the final boss was not difficult for me (That may have been attributed to the RIDICULOUS AMOUNT of grinding I did to get all the Digimon I wanted, but that’s not the point.

You can see why I did that grinding. I WANTED BEELEZEMON BURST MODE!

You can see why I did that grinding. I WANTED BEELZEMON BURST MODE!

So the process of Digivolving your Digimon seems simple at first, level them up enough to hit the level requirement, go to the lab Digivolve, rinse and repeat, Right? WRONG! No each Digimon has several options that they can choose from to Digivolve and each of those choices has certain requirements that the Digimon needs to have to Digivolve into that particular Digimon. These requirements were Hit Point, Skill Points, STRength, DEFense, INTelligence, SPeeD, ABIlity, and CAMaraderie. Some requirements come naturally through levelling up, but in order to raise the max level cap of your Digimon you need to de-digivolve. This process allows you to put your Digimon at a lower form, but increases the level cap and ABI. What’s ABI, ABI IS EVERYTHING IF YOU WANT TO PLAY ONLINE SON!

Regrettably ABI does not increase naturally so it is the long process of Digivolving and De-Digivolving Digimon to get 100%

Regrettably ABI does not increase naturally so it is the long process of Digivolving and De-Digivolving Digimon to get 100%

ABI is important because it allows you to level up certain stats to a certain degree. YOu can compare it to EV’s in Pokemon. Where you have a certain number of points to allocate to certain stats and this changes the maximum stat. This is important to online play because it gives you the advantage against others. All Digimon on online play are brought to level 50, so if you have to two of the exact same Digimon against each other the one with the higher allocated ABI is going to do better. There are several ways to increase those stats when you have the ABI, the first which is the easiest, but most expensive option is Stat-boosting items. Towards the end of the game you can buy them in the Digi-lab shop. They cost $100,000 each and one can raise the stat by 10-20. The other is the Digifarm this is more time consuming, but depending on the program used can raise it from 10 – 50. I liked this because it gave a lot of versatility to Digivolving, making certain Digimon better for certain Digivolution lines than others.

The Tai Kamiya skinned Agumon, I just had to make it the final Digimon for this Trophy

The Tai Kamiya skinned Agumon, I just had to make it the final Digimon for this Trophy!

The battle system in this game reminds me of a combination of Pokemon, Blue Dragon and Classic Final Fantasy. I enjoyed the battle system because it was a typical turn-based RPG, what I grew up on which is sadly not implemented as much in newer RPG’s. I liked how every Digimon had their own special ability that had it’s very own special animation. It made you want to use all the Digimon just to see the animation. I also liked the Dot status effect, it reminded me of the small Digivices everyone had at school and would play with (Also made it look like everyone was furiously masturbating in class trying to train their Digimon).

When I saw this it was like a flash from the past

When I saw this it was like a flash from the past

There was some errors in the game, and by some I mean some Yeah just a few I found that probably any ordinary person would miss. Here are some…

METALGREYMON GET DOWN HERE NOW!

BLACK METALGREYMON GET DOWN HERE NOW!

The text here did not make sense, all the options are part of the same sentence. Am I supposed to pick the part she stops listening at or did Translation mess up.

The text here did not make sense, all the options are part of the same sentence. Am I supposed to pick the part she stops listening at or did Translation mess up. This happens a couple times and confuses me each time.

Arata I didn't know you were a cyber ghost too. You can phase through things as well.

Arata I didn’t know you were a cyber ghost too. You can phase through things as well.

BLACK METALGREYMON I THOUGHT WHY DID YOU CLIMB BACK UP!? HOW DO I GET YOU DOWN... GET DOWN RIGHT NOW!

BLACK METALGREYMON I THOUGHT WHY DID YOU CLIMB BACK UP!? HOW DO I GET YOU DOW… GET DOWN RIGHT NOW!

Other things I found were like some medals didn’t have the proper name associated with them, but that’s all really nerdy shit.

Now to the story, overall the story is average. It is nothing special, the main character was pretty bland. It seemed in the beginning he was going to be the silent protagonist, but then we hear his/her’s inner monologue… So they couldn’t make up their mind with what they wanted to do. The side characters were more interesting to watch, with Nokia being my favourite, I’d rather have her as the main character. She also had the best scene in the game…

Overall, this game has a lot of interesting mechanics which makes the game fun and interesting to mess with. It has a fair amount or replayability with the New Game + mode and the Online Coloseum. However, the story is not the most interesting story, it is good, but nothing special and the game was really easy for me. I really enjoyed this game and if the story was more interesting and the game was harder I would probably rate it higher, but I can’t.

Rating: 7/10

The game is amazing for people who enjoy Digimon and RPG’s but it is really easy and the story seems generic. If those were better I would probably give it a personal 10. I think of this as one of my favourite game this year and may go into my favourite RPG’s because I like Digimon so much. I just can’t give it a higher rating.

About dandylion13

I mostly talk about anime, and whatever I feel like on another day. So come on down and read a review!
This entry was posted in Review, Video Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Digimon Story Cyber Sleuth: HOLY SHIT! A NEW DIGIMON GAME

  1. I haven’t finished this game, but I have enjoyed the little I have played. Your points are valid although I am surprised that you gave your fave game of the year just a seven.

    • dandylion13 says:

      I couldn’t give it anymore, if you fight every encounter you reach from the beginning to the end the main story is not hard. The side DLC stuff that has come out if harder, but overall it is not a hard game. I can’t give it more than a seven because it was lacking in certain areas that took away from the core gameplay. I still loved it though!

  2. Mr. Panda says:

    I just beat this game the other day, but spot-on review! The Digivolution system and battle mechanics were overall pretty good. The story and difficulty was all over the place, and I don’t mean that in a good way. I also noticed some errors and bugs like the ones you did. I’m still happy that they finally made a decent Digimon game many years after the franchise started. Great job!

Leave a Reply

