Seasonal Anime Attempt: Garo – Guren no Tsuki

Garo

So looking at my long hiatus I noticed that I a little behind on my seasonal anime attempts so with that said and done I’m going to be doing all the shows that caught my eye each season I missed until I’m up to date.

So right off the bat I’m enjoying the music it gives a western feel to this Japanese setting which I think is a interesting mix. This music continues on throughout the episode and it just makes the scenes better. The landscapes and the characters all look great, they are unique and seem like they will be interesting from the interactions seen in the first episode. Especially the guy at the end, he looks like he may become a cool villain if they use him right.

I have to say that I like the Garo Makai Knight designs. To my knowledge it looks like the previous Garo design, but it is still awesome.

I have to say that I like the Garo Makai Knight designs. To my knowledge it looks like the previous Garo design, but it is still awesome.

However the rest of the episode is a bit slow. They used to first episode to really hammer in the concept of the show, the characters and the mystery of the episode. In the show the hero’s are respectively Makai Knights and Makai Alchemists who fight against Horrors that grant people’s desires in exchange for possessing them. How do I know this, whenever the hero’s fight a Horror in the episode the give a brief description of what a Horror is in case we missed it the first time around. Though not a big problem it was just something I thought was annoying.

The Horror's look like classics devils and it is just a really nice, classic design.

The Horror’s look like classics devils and it is just a really nice, classic design.

The first episode of this show, besides the music, is pretty bland. A first episode should grab your attention and keep it the whole time, but Garo: Crimson Moon was really trying to set up the universe with a lot of dialogue in an action show. I don’t think that this much set up was needed because we had another Garo series previously and the live action series. With this being an actual franchise I think there was not a need for most of the set up they did. I believe that the show will get better, but it did not start off on the best foot.

I have high hopes that this will get better and that this will be my reaction later on.

I have high hopes that this will get better and that this will be my reaction later on.

About dandylion13

I mostly talk about anime, and whatever I feel like on another day. So come on down and read a review!
This entry was posted in Seasonal Anime Attempt and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seasonal Anime Attempt: Garo – Guren no Tsuki

  1. cloud0ix says:

    Did you ever watch Garo: Honoo no Kokuin? It’s one of my favorite anime, definitely worth checking out (especially since Guren is, hm, less than spectacular let’s say).

Leave a Reply

